Election results: Cross River Gov, Ayade loses senatorial bid

Cross River State Governor, Ben Ayade has been defeated in the Saturday’s National Assembly election.

The incumbent Senator representing the Northern Senatorial District of the state in the National Assembly, Sen Jarigbe Agom Jarigbe was re-elected.

Senator Jarigbe who contested under the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, garnered 76,145 to defeat governor Ben Ayade of the All Progressives Congress who polled 56, 595 votes in the exercise.

Declaring Sen. Jarigbe winner of the exercise in the early hours of Monday, the returning officer, Dr. Emmanuel Emanghe who spoke on behalf of Independent National Electoral Commission INEC thanked stakeholders for their peaceful conduct

Emanghe also lauded all security agents for giving the needed security support which invariably led to successful and credible elections.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button